Home > travel > Easy (to miss the) Jet [ Greifswald – Berlin – Gatwick – London ]

Easy (to miss the) Jet [ Greifswald – Berlin – Gatwick – London ]

Well, that was quite a week! I’ve been in England for a week and a day and am now sitting on the train back to Greifswald writing this while watching the masses of lightning over northern Germany. In order to not write everything in one post, I’ll put a short entry in for each day of my mini-holiday, each day of this week. So here’s the first:

Tuesday 3rd May: Greifswald – Berlin – Gatwick – London

Having spend many hours sitting around airports and train stations on previous attempts, I decided this time to try to make the connections a bit closer. I left only 30mins between the train arriving at the airport and the departure gate closing time. The only alternative was having a 2.5 hour wait at Berlin airport. Unfortunately, the train from Greifswald was late into Berlin Hauptbahnhof so I missed the connection. A taxi from there to the airport solved that problem for only 35€. I gave him 40€ for driving like a maniac, as I needed since even then I made it to the departure gate only 30 seconds before it officially closed. As it happened, the flight was 30mins late, so it wouldn’t have been a problem.

I was quite surprised this guy was happy to stand there as the plane taxied in using its engines.

I was quite surprised this guy was happy to stand there as the plane taxied in using its engines.

Berlin

Berlin

The flight itself was uneventful except for some nice views of Belgium at night and I turned up at Gatwick airport at about 10pm. After 3 months of mostly only over-hearing German, I was treated
to the sound of some loud and very sterotypical London builders behind me while choosing a sandwich in Gatwick M&S. There was something oddly pleasant about that as a welcome home.

Belgium

Belgium

See

See

By just after midnight, I made it to a friend’s place near Canary Wharf and my first of many Sofas/Mattresses of the week. Unlike many hotels, they had free Wifi and could provide me with something to charge my new power hungry phone, since I left my power lead at work in Greifswald. So, that was the very start of my travels complete.

Categories: travel
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

