Home > gliding > Aerial guided navigation.

Aerial guided navigation.

Flying at Schmoldov at last.

Flying at Schmoldov at last.

Greifswald in merky skies (contrast adjusted).

Greifswald in merky skies (contrast adjusted).

Last weekend I once again cycled down to Schmoldov airfield but this time joined up to the club properly and actually flew there. I flew with an instructor who tried to speak a little English but it was actually easier in the end for me to speak German. He was very quiet for the first 20 mins of the flight and said he was just enjoying the view (not that there was much, it was very merky). I decided to wander over to the south edge of Griefswald to take a photo. I will fly over the top of it later but I couldn’t see the airfield anymore so didn’t want to push out too much. Later on, I asked him to fly while I took some photos of the area and with some awkward German language we discussed and found a better route home for me on my bike, that involves less main road.

 

New route home over the main road.

New route home over the main road.

Up close and personal.

Up close and personal.

I flew with him for a second time, after which he said I should fly the Puchacz (the two-seater) by myself on the following weekend before flying their single seaters, not sure why.

This weekend, they flew all four days of Easter – from Friday through to Monday. I went down there first on Friday. I flew with an Instructor again and then flew the Puchacz twice by myself. So now I’ve at least flown solo in Germany. Yay!

 

If towing gliders with an oversized vehicle, use an undersized child.

If towing gliders with an oversized vehicle, use an undersized child.

Solo in a Puchacz in Germany.

Solo in a Puchacz in Germany.

The day was blue and the thermals very tight, so it was hard work but with some quick centering and a lot of bank I managed to stay up for over 40 mins on 0 – 2 knot climbs. This turned out to be the longest flight so, after being declared the champion of the day and having a beer, I cycled home. Trying get home before dark against the wind was hard work, so I was too tired to cycle back on Sat or Sun and used those days to get done all the annoying little jobs that you never get around to doing.

 

Action Shot.

Action Shot.

Videoing is harder while cycling than while flying.

Videoing is harder while cycling than while flying.

continued …

Categories: gliding
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

